Event Date and Time: 

Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sun Apr 28 2019 except Tue Apr 23 2019.
Saturday, 16 February 2019 - 11:00am to Saturday, 27 April 2019 - 4:00pm
Tuesday, 19 February 2019 - 11:00am to Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 4:00pm
Wednesday, 20 February 2019 - 11:00am to Wednesday, 1 May 2019 - 4:00pm
Thursday, 21 February 2019 - 11:00am to Thursday, 2 May 2019 - 4:00pm
Friday, 22 February 2019 - 11:00am to Friday, 3 May 2019 - 4:00pm

Price: 

FREE ADMISSION

Category: 

Exhibitions

Website: 

http://bit.ly/2Ue8GmK

Discovery Card Offer Details: 

Contact Name: 

Sophie Cooper

Contact Phone: 

01225 386777

Contact Email: 

Event Description: 

Andrew Brownsword Gallery is pleased to showcase Banger, a group of new sculptures by Emma Hart commissioned by The Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh.

Hart makes work about the routines and spaces of everyday life. Banger is a new body of ceramic works that continues her investigation into relationships and domestic life, in this case the car as the interior space where so many family dynamics are played out. Beyond the windscreen there are urban scenes clamouring with signs and instructions and rural horizons with endless of possible routes to navigate. In Banger the relentless velocity of decision making is as inescapable as the changing weather.

The exhibition highlights the London based artist’s work with ceramics, a material she turned to in order to find the ‘real’ in art: ‘clay can be an exciting way to talk about chaos … what is immediately important is how personal it is. There’s a very raw direct relationship between the clay and my hands’.

#emmahart

Event Location: 

Andrew Brownsword Gallery, The Edge
University of Bath
BA2 7AY Bath
United Kingdom